Shenzhen Government Online
Cape Town
From: Office of Foreign Affairs Work Committee of CPC Shenzhen Municipal Committee
Updated: 2021-07-05 15:07

Cape Town is a legislative capital and the second largest city of South Africa. Colloquially named the Mother City, it is the primate city of the Western Cape province.

The Parliament of South Africa sits in Cape Town. The other two capitals are located in Pretoria (the executive capital where the Presidency is based) and Bloemfontein (the judicial capital where the Supreme Court of Appeal is located).

The city is known for its harbour, for its natural setting in the Cape Floristic Region, and for landmarks such as Table Mountain and Cape Point. It is one of the most multicultural cities in the world, reflecting its role as a major destination for immigrants and expatriates to South Africa.

The city was developed by the United East India Company (VOC) as a supply station for Dutch ships sailing to East Africa, India, and the Far East. Cape Town outgrew its original purpose as the first European outpost at the Castle of Good Hope, becoming a economic and cultural hub of South Africa.

It became a friendship city of Shenzhen on September 15 2015.